Energy Security & Independent Act of 2007 (EISA)
New performance standards for general purpose light bulbs
Requires light bulbs to deliver a minimum amount of light per unit of energy consumed
Mandates 25% increase in lumen per watt efficiency over current incandescent technology

The standard will be phased in between 2012 and 2014

Other Facts:
EISA is NOT a ban on incandescent bulbs nor is it a purchase ban. EISA is technology neutral and is a ban on manufacturing and shipment of inefficient products. There are 22 special purpose light bulb types that are exempted.

EISA Compliant Technologies:

• Currently available new infrared halogen may be twice as efficient as standard incandescent
• Will be priced below CFLs currently meet EISA requirements: 72 watt, 53 watt, 43 watt and 28 watt CFLs:
• Surpass EISA requirements
• Still have some light quality and proper application challenges
• Still have mercury and need to be recycled

• Surpass EISA requirements
• CONS: higher cost and newer technology
• Commercial fixtures need to be 25% more efficient. Only more energy efficient electronic ballasts are currently being manufactured. T-12 linear lamps are being phased out and replaced with more efficient T-8.